94
Followers
87
Following
Marianna

Marianna






Status Updates: Full Blooded by Amanda Carlson

Full Blooded - Amanda  Carlson

"In the vein of Kelley Armstrong and Patricia Briggs, Amanda Carlson's debut is a new urban fantasy that rewrites the werewolf myth...

 

It's not easy being a girl. It's even harder when you're the only girl in a family of werewolves. But it's next to impossible when your very existence spells out the doom of your race... Meet Jessica McClain -- she just became part of the pack."

 

Comparing a book to Particia Briggs' work is perhaps shooting yourself in the foot. We'll see...

 

Pg. 22: Oh god. The dialogue world building is putting me to sleep. Zzzz...

Pg. 80: "I know," he continued in a harsh whisper. "I know you have something more to do with this than you're letting on. I can feel it in my bones. And when I find out what it is, I'm going to throw your ass in jail, make no mistake about it. And when I do, I'm gonna be singing to the heavens. You're going down, Hannon. And there's not a damn thing you can do to stop it."

Ray Hart is such a stupid character. His vendetta against Jessica is unrealistic. She hasn't done anything illegal and never has. I do not understand this animosity of his.

 

Pg. 170: Once again. I wish the author found a different way to explain the werewolf culture. All these conversations feel awkward.

"A true mate is supposed to provide you with more than just a child though, right? Supposedly compatible to you wolf in all ways. She is able to give you children, but she can also calm a part of your wolf like no other, and the lore states she a alone can keep you from making a change."

 

Pg. 163: "Tyler, I don't want to go, I want to stay and fight. My place is here fighting along side my Pack, not being protected like some breakable object."

She has said some version of this at least three times in the last five pages. There is too much talking going on and not enough thinking.

 

Pg. 216: Too much shit-talking not enough fighting.

 

Pg. 247: And... cliffhanger. *sigh*